Natalia Shpilkovskaya

LL.M., Chief Expert

LL.M., Chief Expert

nshpilkovskaya@wto.ru

Natalia Shpilkovskaya possesses considerable experience in researching WTO law. As a specialist for the Center, she is involved in development and elaboration of legal positions for WTO dispute settlement mechanism participation, as well as in preparation of documents for submission to WTO’s Dispute Settlement Body.                         

 

In addition, Natalia provides research and analytical support on the issues of trade policy and international trade negotiations, interpretation of WTO Agreements, analysis of WTO jurisprudence as well as analysis of consistency of trade measures with WTO norms.

Participation in negotiations on Russia’s accession to the WTO in 2000–2006 and in the WTO dispute settlement mechanism (since 2011) gave Natalia significant practical experience in WTO law research, and provision of legal assistance in connection with protection of clients’ interests in the WTO context.

For three years prior to joining our team in 2014, Natalia had been engaged with the international trade law group Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, Canada. Natalia’s professional scope involved provision of legal analysis services in connection with WTO agreement provisions and analysis of trade measures for their consistency with WTO rules. She was particularly involved in legal research, analysis of trade measures and preparation of submissions to WTO’s Appellate Body in US – Clove Cigarettes, US – Tuna II (Mexico) and US – COOL, and to the panel in US – COOL (Article 21.5).

From 2002 to 2006 Natalia worked in the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the UN office in Geneva and other international organizations in Geneva. Her functions involved provision of legal assistance on issues arising in the process of the accession negotiations. Natalia implemented monitoring and drafted reports on accessions of other countries to the organization, on the proceedings of the Dispute Settlement Body, and on the Doha round progress, in particular, on trade facilitation and improvement of the WTO dispute settlement mechanism.

From 2007 to 2018 Natalia was the managing editor of Mosty (“Bridges”), a periodical on trade law and sustainable development issues. The periodical was published by the International Center for Trade and Sustainable Development (ICTSD). 


Education: 

LL.M. in international trade law, University of Ottava, 2007

Qualified lawyer with a degree in jurisprudence, Moscow State Law Academy (now known as

Kutafin Moscow State Law University (MSAL)), 1998

Language skills:

Russian

English 

Work Experience:

2014– present: Chief Expert, WTO Expertise Center

2011–2014: Senior Associate Consultant, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (“BLG”), Ottawa

2007–2018: Consultant – Managing Editor, Mosty, International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development (ICTSD), Geneva

2007–2008: Consultant – Researcher on legal and international trade issues, University of Ottawa

2002–2006: First secretary, Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the UN Office and other international organizations in Geneva

1998–2002: Counsellor, Legal Department, Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation

1996–1998: Head of Legal Department, FSUE NPO Tekhnomash, Moscow

 

Заказать заключение по интересующему вас вопросу

Шпильковская Наталья

Главный эксперт

Главный эксперт

Наталья Шпильковская обладает значительным опытом юридической работы в области права ВТО. В Центре она участвует в разработке правовых позиций для участия в механизме разрешения споров ВТО, а также в подготовке документов для представления в Орган по разрешению споров ВТО.

Кроме того, Наталья предоставляет исследовательскую и аналитическую поддержку по вопросам торговой политики и международных торговых переговоров, толкованию соглашений ВТО, анализу юриспруденции ВТО и проверке торговых мер на предмет их соответствия нормам ВТО.

Участие в переговорах по присоединению России к ВТО в 2000-2006 гг. и в механизме разрешения споров ВТО с 2011 г. позволило Наталье накопить существенный практический опыт в исследовании права ВТО и оказании юридической помощи по защите интересов клиентов в рамках ВТО.

До прихода в нашу команду в 2014 г. в течение трех лет Наталья работала в группе по международному торговому праву в канадской юридической фирме Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. В сферу компетенции Натальи входило оказание услуг правового анализа по толкованию положений соглашений ВТО и рассмотрению торговых мер на предмет их соответствия правилам ВТО. В частности, она участвовала в проведении юридических исследований, анализе торговых мер и подготовке документов для представления в Апелляционный орган ВТО по спорам US – Clove Cigarettes, US – Tuna II (Mexico) и US – COOL и в третейскую группу по спору US – COOL (Article 21.5).

В 2002–2006 гг. Наталья работала в Постоянном представительстве Российской Федерации при Отделении ООН и других международных организациях в Женеве. В ее функции входило осуществление юридической поддержки по вопросам, возникавшим на переговорах по присоединению России к ВТО. Наталья осуществляла мониторинг и готовила отчеты о присоединении других стран к этой организации, работе Органа по разрешению споров, ходе переговоров раунда Доха, в частности по упрощению процедур торговли и совершенствованию механизма разрешения споров ВТО.

Образование: 

Университет Оттавы, степень магистра права (LL.M.), специализация – международное торговое право, 2007 г.

Московская государственная юридическая академия (МГЮА), высшее юридическое образование, квалификация – юрист, специальность – "Юриспруденция", 1998 г.

Владение языками:

русский,

английский

Опыт работы:

2014 по н/в: главный эксперт, Центр экспертизы по вопросам ВТО

2011-2014: старший консультант, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (“BLG”), Оттава

2007 по н/в: консультант – управляющий редактор публикации «Мосты», International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development (ICTSD), Женева

2007-2008: консультант – исследователь по юридическим вопросам, Университет Оттавы

2002-2006: первый секретарь, Постоянное представительство Российской Федерации при Отделении ООН и других международных организациях в Женеве

1998-2002: советник, Правовой департамент Минэкономразвития России

1996-1998: начальник Правового отдела, ФГУП «НПО Техномаш», Москва


Новые рынки – новые возможности

Россия в ВТО – 5 лет: опыт, проблемы и перспективы

Пять лет России в ВТО

Елена Шапиро: в ВТО мы учимся спорить в правовом поле

Заказать заключение по интересующему вас вопросу